Nikhil Vemu
1 min readAug 10, 2023

Hi Tony, please consider the opinions of the writers who are getting paid over 70% less this month compared to previous months.

This is really disappointing - such a great platform taking a decision that thwarted the hopes of people who are keeping it alive.

You can proceed with the new algorithmic changes, but we request you to keep reading time as #1 metric - hopefully 70-80% weightage. And you can consider engagement as the remaining 20%.

I used to be the top 1% writer on Medium. I have even earned $10,000 in a single month and earned over $5,000 consistently - a feat that might not be possible even for a very accomplished writer over here.

This month, I think I won't be able to make $1,500. Do you think I deserve it, considering the value and traffic I provide to the platform?

We plead you a thousand times. Please think over this. We've made a lot of financial decisions keeping Medium in mind.